Weather Updates

Local Notes: Illini Day at John Deere Classic

Steve Stricker hits his drive 15th hole during second round John Deere Classic held TPC Deere Run July 12 2013

Steve Stricker hits his drive on the 15th hole during the second round of the John Deere Classic held at TPC Deere Run on July 12, 2013 in Silvis, Ill. | Getty Images

storyidforme: 51952843
tmspicid: 19312775
fileheaderid: 8767348

Updated: August 15, 2013 6:21AM

Five University of Illinois graduates playing in the week’s 2013 John Deere Classic wore their school colors for Illini Day in Friday’s second round of the PGA event in Silvis, Ill.

Three-time Deere champ Steve Stricker was joined by fellow Illini D.A. Points, Scott Langley, Luke Guthrie and Joe Affrunti. Fans were encouraged to wear orange and join members of the U of I Foundation and UI Alumni Association and Division of Intercollegiate Athletics at a tent between the tee boxes for the seventh and ninth holes.

Illinois golf coach Mike Small was joined by Illini athletic director Mike Thomas and football defensive line coach Greg Colby at the tent to greet fans.

The tournament wraps up Sunday.

Illinois Public Links

Aurora’s John Wright (73-72 — 145) tied for 11th Tuesday at the 22nd Illinois State Amateur Public Links Championship at Bowes Creek (par 71). Elgin’s Ryan Pondel tied for 19th at 76-76 — 151.

Falling short

Stephanie Miller, of Elgin, and Bing Singhsumalee each shot 77 to tie for 13th Wednesday at the U.S. Women’s Amateur Qualifying Tournament at Biltmore Country Club.

Seven golfers, who shot 75 or better, advanced.

Megan Furtney, of South Elgin, and Abby Luchtenburg, of Geneva, also came up short, tying for 30th, each shooting 84.

State Am qualifiers

Several area players qualified for the upcoming State Amateur, which will be held Tuesday through Thursday at Aldeen Golf Course in Rockford.

At Marengo Ridge, Kyle Matkaitis, of Oak Lawn, and Greg Bauman, of Crystal Lake, tied for medalist honors at 70. University Wisconsin golfer Thomas O’Bryan, of Aurora, shot 72 and tied for fifth with Brian Spike, of Streamwood. They were among 11 golfers who will advance. The group also included Lee Kolquist, of Geneva, who tied for 10th with a 73.

At Sanctuary Golf Course, Matt Patterson, of Naperville, shot a 74 to tie for eighth place and was among the 13 golfers who qualified.

At Prairie View Golf Club, Matt Daly, of St. Charles, was one of three golfers who tied for medalist honors with an even-par 72.

At Bridges of Poplar Creek Country Club, 16 golfers advanced, including Mike Sterling, of Elgin, and Mike Brierley, of Huntley, each of whom shot 2-over 72 and tied for third. Michael Doherty, of Lisle, also advanced, shooting 74 and tying for 12th.

Illinois Open qualifiers

Two area amateurs, Matthew Weber, of St. Charles, and Ryan Craig, of Huntley, were among 23 golfers advancing to the Illinois Open at the recent Inverness Golf Club qualifier.

Weber tied for second with a 2-under par 70 and Craig tied for 11th at 2-over 74.


Dennis Egan, of Geneva, recently shot a hole-in-one at the ninth hole at Fox Valley Golf Course. He used a 3 hybrid on the 170-yard, par-3. The feat was witnessed by Dean Rushin and Kevin Saunders.

Croft Waddington, of Naperville, recently shot a hole-in-one at the sixth hole at Fox Bend Golf Course. He used a 7-iron to ace the 125-yard hole.

Brigham-Novak Gridiron Classic

Registration is open for the 18th Annual Brigham-Novak Gridiron Classic golf outing, which benefits the Northern Illinois University football program.

Huskies coaches will be on hand for the event, which will be held July 26 at Glendale Lakes Golf Club in Glendale Heights. Single golf entries are $175, with foursomes discounted to $650. Call (815) 753-1923.

ABB Hall induction

Aurora Boys Baseball scheduled its Hall of Fame induction ceremony Saturday at Dolan Field at Garfield Park.

The ceremony to induct an eight-man class featuring four managers and four players was postponed because of inclement weather two weeks ago.

The class includes:

Duane Keenan, who has 15-plus years managing starting in 1980 and service on the board of directors for six years, including four as president.

Steve Rayburn, who managed from 1987 to ’97 and served four years on the board.

Jose Rivera, manager from 1997 to present.

The late Dave Withrow, who managed in the 1990s and served on the board 10 years and president from 2002 to ’04.

Jose Cardenas, who played on five championship teams from minors through Legion ball and serves as East Aurora assistant sophomore coach, where he also played.

Todd Green Busch, who played on a Teamsters minors team that won 51 straight games over three years before moving on to Aurora Central and then eight years in the Spanish American League.

Ryne Reder, who played from 1996 through 2005, including two Legion League champs as well as at Marmion before moving on to play football for Aurora University.

Jason King, who played through the 1980s and helped West Aurora to a fourth-place finish in state in 1991 before playing for St. Francis and Northern Illinois as well as professionally two years for the DuBois County Dragons.

Tomcats Youth Football

Coaches for the Tomcat Youth Tackle Football program will be holding a registration and equipment handout meeting at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday at the East Aurora High School football practice field located behind J. W. Gates Elementary School.

The participation fee is $25, with a $25 deposit fee that must be paid to be eligible to receive equipment.

The Tomcats are a member of the Chicagoland Youth Football League. Conditioning practices begin Wednesday, with full contact and pads practices beginning July 26.

For more information, visit

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.