Weather Updates

November 5: Area Roundup

AurorUniversity's Nicole Wolfe leads Spartans with 17 goals including eight game-winners this season. | Donnell Collins~For Sun-Times Media

Aurora University's Nicole Wolfe leads the Spartans with 17 goals, including eight game-winners this season. | Donnell Collins~For Sun-Times Media

storyidforme: 39582525
tmspicid: 13256873
fileheaderid: 6105698

Updated: December 7, 2012 6:20AM

The Aurora University women’s soccer team received a Pool A berth in the 2012 NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Championships after winning the NAC tournament championship for the fourth consecutive season on Saturday.

AU will travel to Loras College on Friday to take on Calvin College (15-4-1) in a first-round match. The game will begin at 7:30 p.m. in Dubuque, Iowa.

The Spartans are making their ninth tournament appearance in the last 12 seasons — including four in a row and seven out of their last nine.

AU enters the NCAA tournament with a school record tying 19 wins and a 19-1-1 overall record.

Men’s soccer

Four members of the Aurora University men’s soccer team were named First Team All-Conference by the Northern Athletics Conference: senior goalkeeper Ethan Cashen, junior defender Corey Novotny, sophomore defender Jason O’Brien and junior forward Anthony Parra.

Cashen compiled a 10-5-1 record with a 1.06 goals per game average this season. Novotny and O’Brien, a Waubonsie Valley graduate, helped the Spartans record five shutouts this year. O’Brien added three goals and seven assists on the season. Parra had a team-best nine goals, including four game-winners.

Senior forward Xavier Carrillo (6 goals, 2 assists) was named Second Team All-Conference. Midfielders Fabio Aiello, Alex Brunell and Eduardo Cuautle were selected to the All-Freshman team.

Girls volleyball

The Little Ten has announced the members of its All-Conference volleyball team.

Newark’s Abbey Akre (239 kills, 279 digs, 51 aces), Somonauk’s Allison Humes (218 kills, 211 assists, 199 digs) and Jacquelyn Thorp (152 kills, 142 digs) and Indian Creek’s Kate Thuestad (284 kills, 218 digs) were unanimously selected by the league’s coaches.

Other area players chosen include Newark’s Lauren Tollefson (547 assists, 146 digs), Taylor Krug (167 kills) and Kristina Nichols (217 kills, 221 digs), along with Hinckley-Big Rock’s Beth Klein (126 digs, 107 kills).

Boys soccer

The Little Ten has announced the members of its All-Conference soccer team.

Somonauk’s Kyle Hatton (7 goals, 2 assists), Jacob Alstadt (11 goals, 8 assists) and Tommy Skupien (13 goals, 12 assists) were unanimous selections, along with Hinckley-Big Rock’s Bernie Conley (37 goals, 24 assists), Jared Madden (17 goals, 11 assists) and Billy Weissinger (29 goals, 9 assists).

Other area players chosen include Daniel Reiss and Josh Schmitt of Somonauk and Aaron Bolton of Indian Creek.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.