Weather Updates

Six Aurora aldermanic seats contested

storyidforme: 40767571
tmspicid: 14263303
fileheaderid: 6530494

Updated: December 29, 2012 6:21AM

Aurora — A half-dozen aldermanic seats on Aurora’s City Council are up for grabs, election officials confirmed Tuesday. Aurora’s two-term Mayor Tom Weisner and longtime Alderman Scheketa Hart-Burns, 7th Ward, will likely run unopposed for reelection in April.

Candidate filing closed at 5 p.m. Monday in Aurora, Aurora Township and North Aurora. The list of candidates who filed is below.


Mayor: incumbent Tom Weisner

At-large: incumbent Bob O’Connor, 4th Ward alderman Rick Lawrence

2nd Ward: incumbent Juany Garza; Irlanda Gardiakos, owner of property management company

3rd Ward: park planner Chad Feldotto; architect Theodoros Mesiacos; River’s Edge Cafe manager Reece Boyd (Incumbent Stephanie Kifowit elected to the Illinois House)

4th Ward: Aurora Township Democrats chairman Mavis Bates; Duanne Kleckner, president of Kleckner Construction; student Jay Leonardi; actor Mike Leonardi; chairman of the Aurora Planning Commission Bill Donnell; former aldermanic candidate Kevin Mathews; mailman Chuck Norris (Incumbent Lawrence is running for at-large seat.)

7th Ward: incumbent Alderman Scheketa Hart-Burns

9th Ward: real estate managing partner Edward Bugg; former planning and zoning administrator Marge Linnane; volleyball official Mike Ochs; former alderman at-large Bob Shelton; political consultant Matt Harrington (Incumbent Allan Lewandowski did not file to run)

10th Ward: Lynne Johnson; attorney Judd Lofchie, who perviously ran for alderman (Incumbent Lynda Elmore will not run)

The seven candidates filing in the 4th Ward and five candidates filing in the 9th Ward will trigger a Feb. 26 primary race for the seats.

Aurora Township

Supervisor: incumbent Christina Campos; Bill Catching, a current township trustee; Paul Greviskes, attorney and former Kane County Board member

Trustees (four spots will be up for election): Dolores Hicks, incumbent trustee; David Moore, incumbent trustee; Carmen Cantu; Barbara Hernandez; Rebekah Litfin; Juan Reyna; Jesse Vera; Juanita Wells, former East Aurora school board member

Highway Commissioner: John Shoemaker, incumbent highway commissioner

Assessor: Jason Owens

Clerk: Incumbent Herb Hill; Ken Christy

Aurora Democrats voted to hold a primary election for the selection of candidates for Aurora Township positions, instead of having a caucus where candidates are slated by the party. Aurora Township Republicans will slate candidates by caucus at 6:30 p.m. Dec. 4 at Greenman Elementary School.

North Aurora

Trustees (three spots up for election): Chris Faber, incumbent trustee; Mark Gaffino, incumbent trustee; Allen Cavender; Michael Lowery

Village President: Incumbent Dale Berman

Village Clerk: Incumbent Lori Murray

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.