Weather Updates

Vaughan elected chairman of Fox Valley Park Board

Updated: February 17, 2014 8:05AM

AURORA ­— The man who served as longtime executive director of the Fox Valley Park District was elected as the organization’s board president this week.

Bob Vaughan, now executive director of the Dunham Fund, will serve as president of the Fox Valley Park Board at least through the next year. He was unanimously elected to the post at a board meeting Monday night.

Vaughan worked at the Park District for 27 years, eight as executive director, and is the namesake of the Vaughan Athletic Center in Aurora. Vaughan was asked to serve as president, he said.

“My family is the beneficiary of a public pension in Illinois and I just figured it was time for me to give something back,” he said.

Kane County CASA Executive Director Gloria Bunce was named vice president; doctoral student Cynthia Hernandez as secretary; former Board President Rachel Ossyra as treasurer.

New Park District Board members Vaughan, Bunce, Hernandez and Aurora Chief Administrative Officer Alex Alexandrou were seated to the board Monday night. Urban League Executive Director Theodia Gillespie was also recently reappointed to the board.

New board members replace Dan Barreiro, Nancy Hopp, Paul Greviskes, Chris Studebaker and Bill Thompson on the FVPD Board.

New trustees were chosen by Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen in December with the help of a four-person advisory panel.

The Kane County Board also confirmed Aaron Anderson to the Park District Board in December. It was later discovered that Anderson, a North Aurora resident, lives just outside of the Park District’s borders, according to Jeff Long, Park District spokesman.

Lauzen will appoint a sixth board representative at a later date.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.