Weather Updates

Candidates line up for 2014 election

Voters cast ballots during previous electiSt. Paul Lutheran Church Aurora.  | File~For Sun-Times Media

Voters cast ballots during a previous election at St. Paul Lutheran Church in Aurora. | File~For Sun-Times Media

storyidforme: 58758772
tmspicid: 707985
fileheaderid: 539072

Updated: January 5, 2014 6:35AM

Editor’s Note: Kendall County and Will County races will be included in a follow-up story in Thursday’s paper.

Get ready for the robocalls and campaign mailings to start rolling in again.

March will bring the determination of the campaigning landscape for the next election cycle, when numerous local residents will go head-to-head in primary contests for the county, state and national offices that will be filled in November’s balloting.

As the week-long filing period wrapped up Monday, several area residents were in place for primary contests. Others are looking farther down the road, with November their sole prospective political undertaking.

Kane County

There will be two battles in the GOP side of the March 2014 primary for countywide offices.

County Board member Mark Davoust, of St. Charles, filed to run against incumbent County Clerk John Cunningham. No one filed on the Democratic side.

Two Republican candidates also filed in the sheriff’s race. Kevin Williams, who ran once before for sheriff, will run against Donald Kramer. The winner of the race will face Democrat Willie Mayes Sr.

County Board races include:

1st District: Myrna Molina, on the Democratic side; no one on the Republican side.

3rd District: Jennifer Laesch, incumbent, and Donald Ishmael on the Democratic side; no one on the Republican side.

5th District: Bill Lenert, who will challenge incumbent Melisa Taylor, on the Republican side.

7th District: Monica Silva, Democrat; no one on the Republican side.

9th District: T.R. Smith, on the Republican side; no one on the Democratic side.

11th District: John Martin and Thomas Matson, on the Republican side; no one on the Democratic side.

13th District: Phillip Lewis, on the Republican side; no one on the Democratic side.

15th District: Barb Wojnicki, on the Republican side; no one on the Democratic side.

17th District: Deborah Allen, on the Democratic side; no one on the Republican side.

19th District: Hidayat Kahn, on the Democratic side; Kurt Kojzarek, on the Republican side.

21st District: Rebecca Gillam, on the Republican side; no one on the Democratic side.

23rd District: Kevin Smith, on the Democratic side; Margaret Auger, on the Republican side.

DuPage County

Several top DuPage County offices will be decided in November. No one has yet filed to challenge either first-term County Board Chairman Dan Cronin or longtime Treasurer Gwen Henry, both of whom plan to run again. But with County Clerk Gary King stepping down from the office he has held since 1986, Democrat Jean Kaczmarek of Glen Ellyn and Villa Park Republican Paul Hinds both aim to fill the post in November.

For the DuPage County Board, primary races are shaping up on both sides of the aisle in District 4 and a Republican primary will take place for District 6. District 5, has just first-term incumbent Republican board member Tonia Khouri of Aurora listed, with no Democrat having filed to challenge her. The two other District 5 board members, Naperville Republican Jim Healy and Democrat Tony Michelassi of Aurora, are both halfway through their current re-elected terms.

The Forest Preserve District of DuPage County will have some primary activity, when Naperville’s Mary Lou Wehrli vies for the GOP nomination against Joseph Cantore of Oak Brook for president. Both are currently commissioners on the district board. Longtime district President D. “Dewey” Pierotti will step down at the end of his current term.

Longtime lawmen will be defending their positions in the upcoming contests as well. In DuPage County, Republican Sheriff John Zaruba will face a second challenge from West Chicago resident Mike Quiroz. After losing to Zaruba in the February 2010 GOP primary, Quiroz this time will run as a Democrat in November.

State races

With filings final for state offices, there will be some area battles in the March 2014 primary.

One of the most notable will be for the Republican nomination in the 50th State House race among four candidates seeking to replace retiring State Rep. Kay Hatcher.

Filing on the GOP side were Julie Cosimo of Oswego, Keith Wheeler, also of Oswego, Beth Goncher of Aurora, and William Keck of Sugar Grove.

The winner of that race will face a Democrat in November 2014. Filing on the Democratic side was Valerie Burd of Yorkville.

There also was interest in the 97th State House District nomination on the GOP side to replace Republican leader Tom Cross, who is running for treasurer. Three candidates, Mark Batnick of Plainfield, Richard Chapman of Shorewood and Amanda Mancke of Oswego, filed on the GOP side.

The winner of that battle will face Democrat Dennis Grosskopf of Shorewood, who also filed in that race.

There will also be a race in the 65th State House District, which runs through part of central Kane County, most of the northern end of the county and into McHenry County. Filing on the GOP side were Steven Andersson of Geneva, Daniel J. Ugaste, also of Geneva, and Debbie Miller of Elgin. No one filed on the Democratic side.

Some other state race filings in the area include:

75th State House: John Anthony, of Plainfield, and Ron Severson, of Morris, Republicans; and Martha Shugart, of Morris, Democrat.

84th State House: Krishna Bansal, of Naperville, Republican; Stephanie Kifowit, of Oswego, Democrat.

Federal races

A big race is shaping up in the 11th Congressional District. Former Naperville City Councilwoman Darlene Senger, now serving in the Illinois General Assembly, is a contender for the Republican nod to challenge Democratic incumbent Bill Foster, who also is from Naperville. Senger first hopes to prevail in the March 18 primary over opponents Ian Bayne of Aurora, Lisle resident Craig Robbins, former Naperville business owner and current Hinsdale resident Bert Miller, and Channahon’s Chris Balkema.

Some other races include:

6th District: Peter Roskam, of Wheaton, Republican; Michael Mason, of Naperville, Democrat.

8th District: Manju Gael, of Aurora, Larry Kaifesh, of Carpentersville, Republican; Tammy Duckworth, of Hoffman Estates, Democrat.

14th District: Randall Hultgren, of Winfield, Republican; Dennis Anderson, of Gurnee, and John Hosta, of Spring Grove, Democrat.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.