Weather Updates

Can’t tell the candidates without a scorecard

 Steven Buyansky~Sun-Times Media

Steven Buyansky~Sun-Times Media

storyidforme: 39307860
tmspicid: 11212430
fileheaderid: 5124963
Article Extras
Story Image

Updated: December 5, 2012 6:18AM

On Wednesday, your phone will ring a little less often, you’ll get a little less mail and you’ll get a lot less love from local politicians.

If you hadn’t noticed, Tuesday is Election Day.

And while the presidential race has grabbed most of the national headlines, there are plenty of contested smaller races that will have a dramatic impact on how your money is spent in Springfield, Washington and in your county. No matter who wins, Tuesday means change in the Fox Valley.

Between races for county boards in Kane, Kendall, Will and DuPage counties; the Illinois General Assembly; and two Congressional Districts, there are 30 contested elections in The Beacon-News area. Most of those races feature incumbents, but there are brand new districts, too. The dramatic population shifts in the region have created two state Senate districts (the 33rd in northern Kane County and the 49th in southern Kendall), a new state House district (the 84th on the East Side of Aurora) and an incumbent-less 11th Congressional District that covers most of Aurora, Naperville and Joliet.

Below is a brief look at the contested congressional, state legislature and county board chairman running in the region. If you haven’t voted already, and you haven’t made up your mind, all of The Beacon-News election preview stories are at, archived in the elections category under the “news” tab.

The polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.


11th District

District facts: The district includes most of Aurora, Naperville and Joliet. There is no incumbent.

Who’s running?

Rep. Judy Biggert, Hinsdale, Republican. Biggert has served the 13th District since 1999, but her district was sliced into five parts, leaving her just outside the 11th District boundaries. She was unopposed in the Republican primary after two potential challengers were removed from the ballot.

Bill Foster, Democrat, Naperville. Foster represented the 14th Congressional District from 2008 to 2011, losing a re-election bid to Rep. Randy Hultgren. Foster moved from Batavia to Naperville prior to the primary in the 11th District.

14th District

District facts: The new 14th Congressional District touches seven counties, including Kane, Kendall and DuPage. It stretches from Illinois’ northern border, south to Kendall County and Naperville, while grabbing large chunks of the Tri-Cities along the way.

Who’s running?

Dennis Anderson, Gurnee, Democrat. Anderson is a first-time political candidate who has worked as an administrator in the medical research field, mostly at Loyola University’s Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center.

Incumbent Rep. Randy Hultgren, Winfield Township, Republican. The former DuPage County Board member was elected to the Illinois House in 1999, then the Illinois Senate in 2007. In 2010, he beat Bill Foster for the Congressional seat in the 14th District.


50th District

District facts: The district stretches from Yorkville in the south, and follows Route 47 north to touch Batavia and Geneva.

Who’s running?

Andrew Bernard, Democrat, Batavia. Bernard is the chairman of the Geneva Township Democrats. He is a recent graduate of the University of Illinois’ public administration master’s program.

Kay Hatcher, Republican, Yorkville. Hatcher is the current state representative for the 50th District, in her second term. She is a former Kendall County Board and Oswego School Board member.

75th District

District facts: District includes all or parts of Oswego, Montgomery, Newark, Millington.

Who’s running?

Jeremy Ly, Democrat, Minooka. Ly is a Grundy County Board member who works at Joliet Junior College.

Pam Roth, Republican, Morris. Roth is the current representative in the 75th House District, serving since she was appointed in January. She is a former accountant.

84th District

District facts: This is a new district with no incumbent. It covers mostly the East Side of Aurora, as well as parts of Naperville, Oswego, Montgomery and Boulder Hill.

Who’s running?

Pat Fee, Republican, Aurora. Fee is a retired nurse and former head of the Naperville Area Republican Women’s Organization.

Stephanie Kifowit, Democrat, Aurora. Kifowit, a substitute teacher and Marine Corps veteran, has been an alderman on the Aurora City Council since 2003.

90th District

District facts: The current representative from the district, Republican Jerry Mitchell, is not running for re-election. District includes all or parts of Sandwich, Somonauk and Leland.

Who’s running?

Thomas Boken Jr., Democrat, DeKalb. Boken is an employee and student at Northern Illinois University. He was slated by the Democrats. No website.

Tom Demmer, Republican, Dixon. Demmer is the government and public relations coordinator for KSB Hospital in Dixon and a Lee County Board member.


25th District

District facts: Longtime State Sen. Chris Lauzen, a Republican, decided not to run for re-election, and instead is running for Kane County Board chairman. The 25th District follows Route 47 from Yorkville to St. Charles on its western half. In general, the eastern half of the district covers most of the area between Route 31 and Route 59 from Elgin to Interstate 88.

Who’s running?

Corinne Pierog, St. Charles, Democrat. Pierog is the owner of Sustainable Leadership Solutions and a member of the St. Charles School Board since 2009.

Jim Oberweis, Republican, Sugar Grove. Oberweis is chairman of Oberweis dairy company and founder of the Oberweis Asset Management investment firm. He previously ran for governor, the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House.

38th District

District facts: District includes most of the southern half of Kendall County.

Who’s running?

Sue Rezin, Republican, Morris. Rezin was elected to the Illinois House in November 2010, then appointed to the state Senate one month later. She worked in her family’s real estate company.

Christine Benson, Democrat, Ottawa. Benson was school superintendent in the Streator Elementary School District for 18 years.

42nd District

District facts: The district includes the far north side of Aurora and parts of Naperville, Wheaton and Winfield.

Who’s running?

Linda Holmes, Democrat, Aurora. Holmes is the current state senator representing the 42nd District. She was on the Kane County Board prior to her election to the state Senate.

Peter Hurtado, Republican, Plainfield. Hurtado, a park district commissioner in Plainfield, runs a small business specializing in metalworking and commercial light fixtures. This is his first run for office.

49th District

District facts: This is a new seat with no incumbent. It includes all or parts of Oswego and Plainfield.

Who’s running?

Jennifer Bertino-Terrant, Democrat, Shorewood. Bertino-Terrant is the regional superintendent at the Will County Regional Office of Education.

Garrett Peck, Republican, Plainfield. Peck owns a technology consulting business and has been a Plainfield village trustee since 2009.


County Board Chairman

Who’s running?

Chris Lauzen, Republican, Aurora. Lauzen has been a state senator representing the Aurora area since 1992. He is a former tax accountant.

Sue Klinkhamer, Democrat, St. Charles. Klinkhamer was mayor of St. Charles from 1997 through 2005, then worked in the offices of Chicago Mayor Richard Daley and former U.S. Rep. Bill Foster.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.